Book 3 - Page 5

Book 3 - Page 5
Comic - Book 3 - Page 5
Recent posts... (See full thread)
I'm not sure that extending Ansom's bonus to those cities would work, that seems contrary to the prisoner rules as we've seen them. Prisoners function in large part as units on the capturing side until they are either fully turned or become fugitives. If Ansom escaped, he might be able to. That said, if he escaped while Jillian were raiding a city, he'd be immediate be repatriated by the GK units on that city...

Therefore, my guess is that Parson's intention is to instruct the defenders of Jillian's targets that their first priority is to free Ansom.

Edit: Anyone want to place quatloos on this?

Failing that, If the prisoner rules can be circumvented, it would likely have to be a 'Pliers-enhanced link between Croakamancer, Thinkamancef, and either Turnamancer (given their aptitude working with the prisoner status) or a Carnymancer (breaking the rules, but fat chance of that).
ManaCaster wrote:

Ashendant wrote:
My guess is that Parson is going to order the captured units to kill themselves and use a link to decrypt them.

Why? To make it harder to turn them? I think he's got higher priorities in dealing with her.


I'm assuming that being decrypted de-captures them as they no longer count as a unit
Lipkin wrote:
BakaGrappler wrote:
OOOOOOH MYYYYYYYY SHNIKIES!!!!!

I think I get what idea Parson has going! He's going to use a link up to have Ansom's Leadership bonus conveyed to the Decrypted troops in the towns Jillian attacks! He's going to use Wanda's Arkenlink to the Decrypted in a tri-link to overcome the Captured status and have the troops receive the bonus! Because Ansom is the only Leadership in the area good enough to overcome Jillian's bonus!

AHHHHH-hahahahaha-haaa-hahahaha!

What disciplines would that use?

Sounds like Carnymancy -- deliberately ignoring the rule that a captured unit doesn't provide bonuses to its allies. Parson doesn't have access to Carnymancy, and likely never will for plot purposes.

In fact, that seems to be the core tension between Parson and Charlie. Charlie is used to having the power to break specific rules to attain his goals. Parson breaks rules with lateral thinking -- exploiting multiple rules at once, combining them in ways they were never intended to produce an unexpected result. In this way they are very similar characters, which is why they work so well as narrative foils against each other. Like two superheroes with similar but not-quite-identical superpowers duking it out.

Find enough loopholes, enough exploits, and any "game" or "game-like system" will simply break. In Stupidworld, irritated players can just leave the table or refuse to play (or they make house-rules to prevent the exploits). In a computer game, you force the developers to "patch" the game to prevent the exploits.

But what do you do if your "game-like system" is an actual universe that was set up by Titans at the beginning, but there are no patches, no house-rules, and nobody is allowed to leave the table? The system completely breaks down, but real people have to actually deal with the consequences of a broken system.
Tanaar wrote:

Therefore, my guess is that Parson's intention is to instruct the defenders of Jillian's targets that their first priority is to free Ansom.

Edit: Anyone want to place quatloos on this?
I wouldn't bet against this; it's the best guess I've seen so far, though it would be incredibly tricky to accomplish a mid-air rescue from Jillian's own mount. And since Ansom is no longer Chief Warlord, his bonus would only apply to units he was stacked with (right?), so he might not make much of a difference to the battle, anyway.
Something I just noticed. There are three color schemes of FAQ uniforms going on in the picture right now. The White with Aqua blue trim of Duncan, which is what we saw in Book 2 for all the units. The White breastplate armor with aqua paldrons. The solid green armor. The latter two seem like they are the Turnamancy turned troops from Progrock and the like.

I just mention this because, well, as far as I knew, this was the color and uniform scheme for the units popped in FAQ under Queen Jillian:
http://www.erfworld.com/book-2-archive/ ... -03-17.jpg

So, you know, I just have to wonder if it was on purpose (turned units have their own color or the like) or a side effect of our artist reading Book 0 and their descriptions of FAQ's units there. Because it took me a while to remember Jillian's FAQ colors as well, and the fact that the FAQ Popped units have fancy vests and service caps instead of plated armor.

As always, your uncalled for continuity man.

/bow

/stageright
BakaGrappler wrote:
Something I just noticed. There are three color schemes of FAQ uniforms going on in the picture right now. The White with Aqua blue trim of Duncan, which is what we saw in Book 2 for all the units. The White breastplate armor with aqua paldrons. The solid green armor. The latter two seem like they are the Turnamancy turned troops from Progrock and the like.

I just mention this because, well, as far as I knew, this was the color and uniform scheme for the units popped in FAQ under Queen Jillian:
http://www.erfworld.com/book-2-archive/ ... -03-17.jpg


Nice spot - I didn't even notice that when reading the panel.


Duncan himself turned from Jitterati, so his Signamancy colour scheme is probably unique/limited to any remaining turned Jitterati units.

Wild speculation:
White plate, turquoise (?) pauldrons (maybe spaulders, but who's to say) - turned GK troops (originally grey plate and pale red spaulders)
Turquoise plate (it's a different shade, but maybe it's meant to be the same shade ?), black spaulders - turned decrypted troops (originally black plate and red spaulders)

But then again: Duncan and the other guy with white plate look like they wear exactly the same trousers and boots
fuchfe97 wrote:


Turquoise plate (it's a different shade, but maybe it's meant to be the same shade ?), black spaulders - turned decrypted troops (originally black plate and red spaulders)


So far as we know, Ansom is the only decrypted unit in Jillian's custody; she kills all others she encounters. In fact it was a sore point between them. If she had changed her policy with regard to capturing decrypted vs. croaking them, that would have been worthy of mention in-comic.
Xarx wrote:
If she had changed her policy with regard to capturing decrypted vs. croaking them, that would have been worthy of mention in-comic.


True, but the troops captured in the megalogwiff do wear decrypted livery, as has been pointed out by others.
fuchfe97 wrote:
Xarx wrote:
If she had changed her policy with regard to capturing decrypted vs. croaking them, that would have been worthy of mention in-comic.


True, but the troops captured in the megalogwiff do wear decrypted livery, as has been pointed out by others.


The argument is that this is actually an error.
fuchfe97 wrote:
Xarx wrote:
If she had changed her policy with regard to capturing decrypted vs. croaking them, that would have been worthy of mention in-comic.


True, but the troops captured in the megalogwiff do wear decrypted livery, as has been pointed out by others.

Yes, on one page they do, and on an earlier page they don't. Pretty obvious continuity error. Wouldn't be the first.

Edit: Ugh, didn't notice the reply on the next page. :|