Book 3 - Page 294

Unhappy little trees

Book 3 - Page 294
Comic - Book 3 - Page 294
Recent posts... (See full thread)
Regarding the Makaleka joining the link...

Yes, it's our understanding that 4 casters cannot link unless they are Thinkamancers, but that doesn't mean it's necessarily true. The Great Minds were/are very protective of their knowledge and sealed away knowledge even from other Thinkamancers, meaning a way to sucessfully link more than 3 may have been sealed in such a manner. It may be possible to link 4 casters if two of them are Thinkamancers, for instance.
abb3w wrote:
Lipkin wrote:

We've had no indication that juice can be turned into shmuckers, just that shmuckers can be turned into juice.

No indication, other than perhaps in the anomalous size of Charlie's treasury, and Charlie's correlated use of the Portal to gain access to effectively unlimited amounts of Shockamancy.

Mmm. I'm still wondering what those slot machines in CC were for.
greycat wrote:

Mmm. I'm still wondering what those slot machines in CC were for.

From that view, the portal room looks a bit like a Vegas lounge. I guess the slot machines are to keep the archons from getting bored down there.
Carl wrote:
Oh for everyone thinking the doll will join the lnk if vanna and roger are allready in there it can't without breaking one of the more fundamental linking rules, more than 3 thinkmancer can link, but there's no indication more than 3 including a non-thinkmancer can.

That's assuming, of course, that the Macarena doesn't count as a Thinkamancer. :think:
Why are people assuming that State N links (3 < N < 7) require everyone in the link to be a Thinkamancer? We know that States 2 and 3 do not require that (only need 1 Thinkamancer). We know that State 7 trace-fusions only require 5 Master Thinkamancers, but not the total number of participants.

I never assumed that everyone in a link had to be a Thinkamancer. Every useful link we've seen, other than the Great Minds doing their daily circle jerk, has involved other disciplines.
Huh, given what the bracer said, the nature of the link, and who we know is working for whom as the readers, I'm thinking that Charlie's plan here is that the link DOES hack the portal to allow passage to non casters.

Just not to the Magic Kingdom.

Instead, it reroutes the user of the portal to Stupidworld. The doll going Leeroy Jenkins on the portal might just give that away before Parson meanders through and finds out he's been had.
Neat idea, but seems unlikely to me. Want to lay odds on it, even long ones? I'd call that a 0.5% off-chance. I'd put up to 40 quatloos on it.
greycat wrote:
abb3w wrote:
Lipkin wrote:

We've had no indication that juice can be turned into shmuckers, just that shmuckers can be turned into juice.

No indication, other than perhaps in the anomalous size of Charlie's treasury, and Charlie's correlated use of the Portal to gain access to effectively unlimited amounts of Shockamancy.

Mmm. I'm still wondering what those slot machines in CC were for.


Charlie often hires barbarian casters. The Lounge and Slots on 40 were there to entice the casters he hired to gamble the money he payed them back to him. That's why they were right next to the Portal.

It was a win-win for Charlie because the barbarian casters would have a really good impression of him due to all the amenities he'd offer casters that worked for him and Charlie would be able to get back some of the money he payed them. He'd also be able to have his archons gossip with the casters in order to collect intel on the MK.

(Lilith) The portal room was on 40. She'd never been there and she didn't know how it even connected. But it was supposed to be the highest security spot in the city, since it was the only place that ever hosted non-Charlescomm units.

(Bonnie) "We also brought in casters to link with him by direct touch, I guess because it worked better. We hired all kinds of then, but never a Carnymancer."

...

"That led to a sister whisper that Charlie was a Carnymancer," she continued. "We had dossiers on more Carnies than any other kind of caster, but we never saw on on 40. Why? Because he was one, maybe."

(Tondelayo) The promotion had come with a long, dull stint on 40. She spent her turns selling drinks to casters and plying them for intel, and trying (unsuccessfully) to stay out of tower politics.
Lipkin wrote:
ErebusVonMori wrote:
Wait if Schmuckers and Juice are interchangable and portal columns are a free source of infinite juice, then isn't that essentially infinite Schmuckers for every single side?

We've had no indication that juice can be turned into shmuckers, just that shmuckers can be turned into juice.


We've had some strong speculation that the paying of upkeep is actually a juice transfer via the upkeep string.

ManaCaster wrote:
Carl wrote:

Hmmmm someone remind me when Roger was talking about master classing, is being a masterclass thinkmancer required to be a GM? I know they didn't have to be master in all 3 but can;t remember on the thinkmancer thing.

Nope. Saltina is just an adept. Isn't even multi-disciplined. You probably just need to get enough respect from the existing Great Minds.


Then i theory more than 4 caster can link up including master classes in other groups by having them learn just enough thinkmancy to participate.
I believe that the GMTTA probably would insist that a caster submit to Thinking Alike before allowing them to learn how to manage a link. But other than this I do not see any insuperable difficulty with the idea that a caster sufficiently Adept to manage a State 3 as the primary Thinkamancer could join a higher Trance Fusion and bring their other casting masteries to it.

Though this is all somewhat irrelevant as long as the State 8, which can obviously safely link and unlink Masters from other Classes with no Eyemancy, remains in play and has access to unlimited juice. In fact, given the ease and certainty with which Deiform incorporated Ivan and Claud (and recommended linking with Wanda at the same time), I'd estimate that the chances are good that a State 7 can handle at least two non-Thinkamancers, it's just never been permitted.

Another high State Trance Fusion is unlikely to be formed for the remainder of this turn, though. Thus for not the relevant issue is what State 8 can do.